To Read – Christmas List

It’s been a while since I’ve felt that burning need to consume and devour books. I think a big part of my sudden surge in motivation is that I have been switching between reading formats. Sometimes I use my Kindle and sometimes and I like to feel the pages between my fingers. I do think that changing between the two makes me feel like the activity is fresh, new and modern.

I’ve been thinking towards the new year and something that I constantly fall into is reflecting on my future book choices. What can I say… I love books!

I’ve got a couple of books I want to read this Christmas:

  1. Chasm City – Alistair Reynolds. I read the first Revelation Space book and was absolutely blown away. The way that the authors mind works must be intense because I can’t imagine how he conceptualized some of the scenes as he did.
  2.  The Sea Road – Margaret Elphinstone. Anyone watch Vikings? Well, let’s just say that the culture intrigues me greatly. I want to know more about them then just their reputation for violence and sailing. Hopefully, this book delivers that knowledge.
  3. Misery – Stephen KingPlease don’t hate me but I have a confession to make. I have actually never read a Stephen King book before. I have no idea of where to start. There are just so many books and everyone is so divided on him. I can get a rave review from one person and an atrocious review from someone else. Halp.
  4. A Time Travelers Guide to Medieval Europe – Ian Mortimer. I thank my lucky stars, as a woman, I’m not born in Medieval times. With my love of reading, stories and exotic places, I’d surely be seen as suspicious. I don’t want to be burned at the stake, thank you very much. Or die of the plague. Doesn’t sound too fun.

Of course, I’d like to continue with the Dresden Files but knowing me, I’ll probably lose interest relatively quickly!

If you have any suggestions, let me know. And if you have any comments on the above books, please also let me know! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “To Read – Christmas List

Leave a Reply

