I Will Not Finish This Book

Last night, I had a conversation with a friend that really opened my eyes.

She loves books. She has an incredibly neat and well arranged bookcase that she is immensely proud of. In her house, no book goes unloved.

So you can imagine my shock when I found out that she had thrown a book in the trash.

It wasn’t an offensive book, by any means. From memory, it was a quite ordinary historical fiction novel. It was the kind of novel that features all the cliches of a tudor period romance. There was long skirts, foggy mornings and court room intrigue abound. So what could there be to dislike that much? It is perhaps boring or stupid but was it bad enough to throw into a bin?

The reason she couldn’t stand it was because it pushed all of her buttons.

And everything in THIS book was a touchy subject for me.

If you want to know, the book was The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman.

Image result for the light between two oceans

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

It was well written, interesting and engaging. And yet, I didn’t enjoy reading it at all. Give me a serial killer decapitating prostitutes and I’ll not raise an eyebrow. Give me a WW2 novel where thousands are killed and it wont even phase me. But reading about children getting taken away from their mothers is just too much. I can’t. Really.

The way the scenarios where explained didn’t help. The author doesn’t just thrust the knife in, she twists it again and again and again.

A couple of nights ago I became fed up with how much I had procrastinated with the book. Every time I looked at it I felt a pit in the depths of my stomach. But it wasn’t terribly written or uninteresting so how could I justify not finishing it? So I laid in bed two hours earlier than usual and got to reading. After, I felt overwhelmed and so deeply upset. There was something about how intense the author wrote the emotions that was starting to get to me. I no longer felt like a voyeur. I felt too involved.

So after my conversation last night, I made a choice.

I am putting this book down.

12 thoughts on “I Will Not Finish This Book

  1. Wow. This is one I was going to try but said never mind because there’s a movie out about it and I can just watch that instead. Now I’m too nervous to watch it because it might be too sad lol

  2. I feel your pain. I have never made the decision to not finish a book. Leave it for now and give it a try later – maybe. A definite no, never. But I am actually considering it. Life is just too short and there are so many great books out there that it just feels like a waste of time and energy.

    Just for the record, throwing out a book makes my skin crawl. Just donate it or something 🙂 All books are precious in my opinion, even crappy ones.

    1. I know! I felt the same when she mentioned that she had thrown out the book. Even the book I mentioned above is now sitting next to my bed but I would never throw it out!
      Funnily enough we have a huge bookfest in my part of the world and they have specifically asked people to not donate 50 Shades of Gray because they recieved so many copies!

      1. Oh wow amazing. I might actually enjoy the book you put away, though enjoy is probably not the word. Eh, to each their own!

      2. Absolutely do give it a shot. I think it was beautiful and a very interest plot line. I also really enjoyed the Australian element as I’m an aussie myself and it is hard to find good books about here. You know what, if you want to message me your address, I would be more than happy to donate the book to you! No worries if not but it is just going to wallow on my bookshelf otherwise :/

      3. Awesome! 😀

        If you don’t mind sending me a message through my About page (in bad need of an update – I know, I know) we could do this by email, or if you have any suggestions shoot!

Leave a Reply

